15 November 2018, 07:03:08

Autor Thema: Problems with drawing vdx topology file  (Gelesen 5724 mal)

0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast betrachten dieses Thema.

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« am: 26 November 2011, 13:36:25 »
Hello Matthias,

Nice tool, thank you a lot. Use it for collecting and parsing inventory data.

I'am trying to use mapper, it passes OK with analysing files and creation of database file, but then gives an error two times in log:

"6203: Unable to draw graph!"

Vdx file appears in wktools directory, but MS Visio gives error (invalid xml)

Environment: MS Visio 2003, wktools 4.5.0.0, windows 7 x64.

Please, advice.

Thank you very much in advance,
Alexander.


#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #1 am: 26 November 2011, 21:42:08 »
Hello Alexander,

thank you for your feedback. Please make sure that "Parse New" and "Analyze New" options are checked.
If this is already the case, how do you collect your data? Do you see the wkm.db in your working directory? If yes, you can open it with any sqlite viewer (I use the FF plugin SQLite Manager).

Regards,
Mathias

-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #2 am: 28 November 2011, 21:18:17 »
Hello Matthias, thanks for responce,

1. All 4 options checked.
2. Data collected using wktools from 2 routers from topology made in dynamips (IOS 12.4 for cisco 3600). Used recommended set of command.
3. wkm.db found in target directory. I open it using sqlite - it has some tables filled by information from router configs. I don't see anything wrong.

Now i see only one error message during parsing of files:
6305: Parser Error! Code 0035 - If Interface 'Fa3/5' is up or the interface name is invalid, please contact wktools@spoerr.org

From config, this interface is "FastEthernet3/5 is up, line protocol is down "

Message "6203: Unable to draw graph!" in wktools disapeared, but vdx file still not readable (seems, something changed).

Trying to open - it gives error:

"Visio is unable to open the xml file. it does not contains a valid xml.

Error: Element '{http://schemas.microsoft.com/visio/2006/extension}Event' is unexpecting according to content model of parent element '{http://schemas.microsoft.com/visio/2003/core}Shape'
Expecting '{http://schemas.microsoft.com/visio/2003/core}Text', ..." 


Thank you very mch in advance,
Alexander

#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #3 am: 29 November 2011, 15:02:38 »
Hello Alexander,

the error message 6305 is only for your information (in this case). wktools only collects data for interfaces wich are up/up. But sometimes there are ARP entries for interfaces which are down (L3 interface) and the tool is not able to correlate the AR entry to the interface. The error message would be serious if
- the interface name was bogus
- The interface was up/up

Could you please send me the two files you collected from the routers? I will then take a look.

Thanks,
Mathias
-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #4 am: 01 Dezember 2011, 20:26:06 »
Hello Matthias,

please, look at attached files.



Thank you very mch in advance,
Alexander

#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #5 am: 02 Dezember 2011, 09:37:25 »
Hello Alexander,

it works for me. Please see the attached jpg for the result. Could you please send me a screenshot of your settings?

Thanks,
Mathias
-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #6 am: 04 Dezember 2011, 11:45:37 »
Hello Mathias,

here is screenshot of map tool setting and log of mapper tool.
I can't see anything strange...

By the way, may be something wrong with visio version (MS Visio 2003)?

__
Thank you very much in advance,
Alexander

#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #7 am: 04 Dezember 2011, 18:36:34 »
Hello Alexander,

please try only L2 Organic as a first step. Visio Version could be the issue, but I am not sure. I tried with 2007 and 2010. To be sure, could you please send me the vdx File?

Thanks,
Mathias
-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #8 am: 08 Dezember 2011, 21:41:24 »
Hello Mathias,

tryed L2 Organic - a bit less vdx file size, but the same error.

L2 Organic result in attach (zip archive renamed into .doc).

__
Thank you very much in advance,
Alexander

#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #9 am: 08 Dezember 2011, 23:27:15 »
Hello Alexander,

I am able to open it in Visio 2010. It seems that the output is not compatible with Visio 2003. I am very sorry for this. Do you have the possibility to upgrade your Visio?

Usually Visio writes all error messages into a log file. Could you please send me this file? I will then check if I can do something.

Regards,
Mathias
-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

asha

  • Cisco User
  • *
  • Beiträge: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • Profil anzeigen
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #10 am: 11 Dezember 2011, 10:59:38 »
Hello Mathias,

i tried Visio 2007, it open vdx ok.
Topology looks like some network symbols but without any links in between (pease, see picture attached).
Is it ok?

Also i attached error log from visio 2003 (its not so actual for me since i've got visio 2003, but may be useful).

__
Thank you very much in advance,
Alexander

#9370

  • Global Moderator
  • Cisco Veteran mit Auszeichnung
  • **
  • Beiträge: 3.703
  • Karma: 65
  • CCIE #9370
    • Profil anzeigen
    • wktools
Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #11 am: 11 Dezember 2011, 13:41:56 »
Hello Alexander,

the graph is fine, but there is bug in Visio that the connections are not shown. You have to select all items and move them for some pixels. Then all connections are displayed. You can also use the "Center Drawing" feature of Viso.

/Mathias
-- www.spoerr.org/wktools --

Keine Anfragen per Private Nachricht
Fragen werden nur im Forum beantwortet!

Deutschsprachiges Cisco Forum

Re: Problems with drawing vdx topology file
« Antwort #11 am: 11 Dezember 2011, 13:41:56 »

 


SimplePortal 2.3.2 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal